Handicrafts? They ain’t so daft!

I don’t know about you, but I’m starting to get fidgety in my swivel chair; my arms ache and I’m craving a bit of natural light, or face-to-face conversation.

According to some mumblings, it isn’t just me. This week’s Stylist magazine features and article about The Life U-Turn, why some people are doing it and why it could split up long-established friendships as one friend reassesses previously shared career ambitions, life goals and social viewpoints (and other such trivial and insignificant factors).

The article claims that some women are reassessing the career goals which they previously made central for more ‘worthy’ work, which makes me think of living in the country and opening a farm, working for a charity or retraining as a nurse or teacher.

Studies, it seems, have shown that many of us need more than just cerebral work to keep us happy. And I agree completely.

For the past few months I’ve been going to a printed fabric class at my local college and it’s an activity that seems to have benefits beyond the two hours each week spent there. Not only does it provide a solid period of creativity, it also allows an outlet for other inspiration which all of us see each day of our lives, but which we fail to notice when we are so caught up in our routines.

Cutting out intricate paper patterns for screen prints on school nights certainly beats switching off in front of the television. And it’s incredibly absorbing.

Arts and crafts aren’t for everyone, and some would find my chosen activity painfully dull, humdrum and thrill free. But I wonder if we need to think again about how we treat our working lives; is the nine to five it? Or can we change our lives and work to encompass more?

Leave a Reply

